Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Alberta real estate in a slump? (Market analysis included)

JDE

New Forum Member
Registered
Hey everyone,

I am interested in investing in residential real estate and was considering Alberta as a possibility. After filling out Don Campbell's checklist however it would appear Alberta may be in a slump. I have limited experience in real estate investing and was wondering if there were any more seasoned investors out there that would agree or disagree with this? Does anyone actually use this checklist in practice? Here is the checklist and data (some is from Calg/Edm because none available for AB as a whole) (Data mostly from CMHC, statscan, AB gov, CREA)
upload_2017-8-1_20-47-12.png
upload_2017-8-1_20-48-35.png

This is unemployment rate inverted and flipped to visualize employment % more easily:
upload_2017-8-1_20-49-37.png
upload_2017-8-1_20-50-20.png
upload_2017-8-1_20-51-0.png
Teranet is an index for house values
upload_2017-8-1_20-51-19.png
Affordability:
upload_2017-8-1_20-55-5.png
upload_2017-8-1_20-57-13.png

Attachments

• upload_2017-8-1_20-49-57.png
    upload_2017-8-1_20-49-57.png
    27.7 KB · Views: 23

MonicaPaslawski

REIN Member
Good going. yes I use this. Analytic personality. And although we're not buying right now and I have not done this research my general knowledge would think you're right

Matt Crowley

REIN Member
@JDE awesome post, you put some serious effort in! How does the scorecard work? Looks like you are summing the red bubbles but not sure why?

The absolute easiest way to think about the real estate cycle is simply where is price compared to net asset value.
P = current market price of real estate
NAV = the analyst's value of real estate (income method, replacement method, direct capitalization, comparables)

P > NAV, real estate becoming overvalued (sell)
P = NAV, fairly valued (neutral)