Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Down Payment

Dia

Registered
Hi im new to the real estate market and will be purchasing my first income property. My question is, is it better to put zero down and save the my down payment or put as big of a down payment as I can? I was also wondering about the amortization period is it better to stretch it out to make my monthly payment lower or try to pay off the property as quick as I can? I will also be living in this first property while I look to purchase another. Thanks

L

lanedry77

QUOTE (Dia @ Oct 8 2007, 11:11 AM) Hi im new to the real estate market and will be purchasing my first income property. My question is, is it better to put zero down and save the my down payment or put as big of a down payment as I can? I was also wondering about the amortization period is it better to stretch it out to make my monthly payment lower or try to pay off the property as quick as I can? I will also be living in this first property while I look to purchase another. Thanks
Hi Dia,

The general response you`re likely to get here is that your return will be higher if you put less down, but the true answer depends on what your goals are for the investment.

For example, if you spend $1.00 and make a $1.00 profit, you have a 100% return on your investment. But, if you spend only $0.25 to make a $1.00 profit, you now have a 400% return on your investment.

So, if you want to get the highest return on your investment, you are better to put very little down on the property.