Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Experience with legal/non conforming 8 plex?

darkness05

Inspired Forum Member
Registered
Hey everyone - I have a lead on an 8 plex and it is listed as a legal/non conforming. From what I am being told, at one point, the zoning supported the 8 plex but now it doesn't. I am contacting the city to see if they would grandfather the 8 plex. I am new to anything over a duplex so curious what ramifications this may have on future zoning, insurance, lending etc.

Would be considered commercial at this point to a lender?

Martin1968

Frequent Forum Member
Registered
You have gotten the right info about the zoning change, however from what i know these type of props (legal,non-conforming) are (almost always) automatically grandfathered in. But doesn’t hurt to double check with municipality. I believe the zoning as it was originally is leading, repairs or reno's won’t change that. But you do want to check what happens in case this 8 plex burns down and you want to rebuild.

As far as lending yes it’s considered commercial. (anything over 5 units)

Good luck, hope it works out for you.

darkness05

Inspired Forum Member
Registered
Thanks a lot - you are exactly right. My insurance company said that I needed to speak with the city to see what happens if the unit does burn down. Can an 8plex be rebuilt or will it have to be a 4P? Hoping to get an answer from them today!

Brad Redekopp

Registered