Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

How to get into apartment building deals in Edmonton

REIGirl

Inspired Forum Member
Registered
Hello, so my husband and I have purchased a few single family rentals as buy and holds. We are nearing our debt to income ratio capacity for purchasing such buildings in our name and are therefore considering to get into apartment building deals to improve our wealth creation and cash flow. Any advice as to how to start? What factors do we need to consider? How do we go about analyzing such deals? Also, we have no experience with JVs, how might we go about this: finding the JVs, structuring the deals, returning the capital investment with profits to JV partners while still maintaining ownership (i.e. not selling)? Thanks!

Victor Pidkowich

Registered
Howdy from Calgary! I have several duplexes in Saskatchewan. I have no apartment experience but because apartments are in my long term plan, a few key people have been on my radar.

I know many REIN members might back me up when I say Pierre Paul Turgeon is the leading authority on this topic.

He recently did an interview around exactly what your up against.

http://mrhamilton.ca/2017/05/graduate-apartment-building-investing-pierre-paul-turgeon/

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
REIN has a good multi family binder. Start there.

The steps in general are

Line up the cash so you know how big a building you want to buy

Contact realtors to find suitable assets ( with the strong caveat that realtors do not wish to waste their time showing rookies buildings they can't afford or can't buy due to lack of cash)

Know the numbers like DCR, NOI and cap rates to know what kind of mortgage you can get

Inspect building and analyze numbers based on known or likely required expenditure

Find a good property manager

Have a decent lawyer that can help with contracts