Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

What to look for in an Accountant

SamEfford

Registered
I am starting my search for an accountant and was hoping to get some insight from other investors as what are the good characteristics of a good Real Estate Investment Accountant.

I have never used an accountant before, so I am pretty green on the subject.

What did you base your decision on when your added an accountant to your team?

jeremyfleming

Registered
Hi Sam,
I chose to use Navaz Murji in Vancouver (although I am in Grande Prairie) for a number of reasons -
  • he was good enough to come to REIN as a guest speaker and explain to us how to organize our paperwork in an effective system, to minimze hassle and cost at the accounting office (he is knowledgable in OUR field)
  • Navaz is an investor in Alberta himself (who else is going to understand a real estate investor and their write-offs better than another real estate investor)The clientele of his accounting business at the time was 40% real estate investors (I imagine it is more now), so I was positive that all of his staff would understand our business thoroughly
I have used his office to prepare 4 years tax for me now with no regrets or problems - if I was looking for another accountant today, I would look for someone with similar business interests - both an accountant and experienced real estate investor.

Just my 2 cents,
Jeremy

SamEfford

Registered
Thank Jeremy. I filled out the questionaire on their website and will see what they have to offer.

I also subscribed to your newletter. Cant wait to read it.

Sam

George

Registered
Good evening,

If I could add to Jeremy`s list - and I do agree 100% with Jeremy`s points and assessment of his accountant, but will slightly paraphrase:

- community oriented - willing to give