Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Wholesaling? Any success?

Jesse

New Forum Member
Registered
I'm new to the real estate investment world and have been thrilled with what I have been learning. My biggest question is about wholesaling. Living in Ontario it seems I am running into a few different opinions about it. It's not a very widely popular form of doing a deal and I was wondering if there was anyone in Ontario or Ottawa (city I live in) who has successfully completed a wholesale deal and is willing to share what they have learned?

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
I assume you are already a millionaire ? As a wholesaler has far more cash at hand than a retailer. You buy properties at a discount, either in bulk or in cash, or ideally both. The only true platform where wholesaling works is the midnight TV channel or the overhead projector !

if you are not a millionaire, then I'd say forget this path.

Jesse

New Forum Member
Registered
of course not. Lol. But this is what I needed to hear. Ultimately to get through the bs and get the facts. I've heard some say its great for starting in the investment world, with no money, no credit...... Others say its illegal. Books only get you so far and its been an educational read from them.
Is whole selling the same as assigning a contract? I'm told it is, but again, I need the facts
Probably very basic questions for some of you but, like I said, trying to cut through the BS first to move forward successfully

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
Wholesaling is similar to assignments, although you may actually own the asset for a while, even if days or weeks only, or indeed simultaneously buying and assigning which is OK in some provinces but more difficult in others. It usually works better in depressed US markets than in by and large healthy Canada where these depressed warzones rarely exist. It also assumes