Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Finally a Place to Call Home

Donal_Ward_McCarthy

REIN Member
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better" - Samuel Beckett

Having grown up in a very traditional belief system in Ireland in the eighties and through much of a recession, I was led to believe that going to University and getting a secure job until retirement was the way to go. This was the way of the generation before me, so why would it not work for my peers and I. My Mother who raised me single handedly was a schoolteacher and one of her most important goals in life was to see me through university and then into a secure job. This was what most parents wanted as this was seen as the best possible future for their children. So to university I went and I graduated with a degree in engineering and very swiftly entered into a great job. Unfortunately however for my Mum, she struggled all through my university years with a terminal illness which she ultimately relented to once she knew I was in a secure position. I began to see things a little differently after this time forth.