Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Non-Legal Triplex in Hamilton

SmoothOp

Registered
First off...thanks for all the great info on this site.
I am just getting into the market and have recently put an offer in on a triplex in Hamilton. This is a positive cash flow property. I have just heard back from my mortgage broker with some bad news that the bank has appraised the property at less than I offered. They said it`s not a legally zoned triplex and is located in a "high crime" area and therefore would not be able to get mortgage insurance on this property with 90% financing.
I know they are not looking at the income the property produces and are considering it a family home. Has anyone had problems with this in Hamilton? I see duplexes and triplexs all over the place. Should I look for another mortgage broker? Or should I rethink my strategy on properties and look elsewhere?

Thanks

BobHudson

Registered
I have a 4 plex in Hamilton that appraised OK when I bought it. Not all of the units are legal.
It is south of Main Street and east of Sherman. If the property you are looking at is north of Main and/or west of Sherman, move on. The cash flow may look attractive but don`t do it. You will have headaches!!!

SmoothOp

Registered
Funny thing...It is very close to that intersection and is in fact North of Main AND west of Sherman. I think I`ll take it as a blessing and move on to a better deal.

fvrdoljak

Registered
QUOTE (SmoothOp @ Oct 25 2007, 08:20 PM) First off...thanks for all the great info on this site.