Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Real Estate Holding Structure

cdawson72

Registered
This is my first time on these forums and in a short period of time realized the vast depth of knowledge amongst this network. I had a few questions regarding my situation and would greatly appreciate any advice or guidence.

I currently own two single family homes as rental properties (Kitchener/Waterloo) with my Dad. We will buy another property once we have 20% down payment. At this point we will continue to follow this slow and steady model. However, we may have access to capital from some outside investors in the near futures, maybe $200,000-$400,000. So here are the questions.

From anyones experience what is the best structure?

Do we form a corp and issue preferred shares?

Do we create an LP?

If we have investors that essential lend us money, will the bank view this as debt, or can we take $300,000 from outside investors and use it as a 20-25% down payment on $1,500,000 property?

Are we better buying several single family homes if the ROI is good or should we be buying larger multi-family units with higher cap rates?

Thanks,

Chad

markl

Registered
Welcome to the forum Chad,

You have a couple of different questions there.

LP`s are a little expensive to set up for the kind of money you are looking to invest.

Most people myself included do not set up a corporation with my partners. I invest in my rent to own properties through the use of joint ventures. A joint venture can be between 2 individuals or 2 corporations or an individual and a corporation. Why individual as opposed to corp or visa versa while that is a discussion for the ages.

Keep it simple JV the properties and each party would be responsible for their own entity for which they would like to invest.