Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Experience with CMHC financing on apartment buildings?

MarkTorgerson

REIN Member
I am looking to refinance through CMHC a couple apartment buildings I already own. The fees make sense as the interest rates are very good with an extended amortization period. My strategy with these buildings are long term holds.

This is my first time going the CMHC route for apartment buildings. The process looks quite detailed with a variety of required reports.

Does anyone have any suggestions that have already gone this route? How long of a term did you go with?

Any potential snags a person should be aware of?

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
CMHC does NOT provide good financing any more these days unless you wish to stay below 70% or so loan-to-value (LTV). The reason: CMHC uses very conservative cap rates to arrive at an artificially low underwriting value.

Someone should take them to court as they routinely ignore market realities such as prices real people pay for real buildings. The fees charegd are on their value not the market value. So you might get an 85% loan-to-CMHC-value which in reality is a 65-70% LTV, but you pay their huge fee for 85% LTV which is 4.5%. A huge money maker for the government. Might be Canada's most profitable crown corporation. It should be abolished actually.

Having said that you should shop around. Many lenders ought there tripping over each other with super low interest rates without CMHC up to 80% LTV.

So the decision you have to make is if you wish to be more like a REIT with lower LTV but low interest rates and some cash-flow, then go CMHC. Or if you wish to have a higher ROI with higher LTV but less cash-flow, go without CMHC.