Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Financial analysis of a triplex - some help needed

lightfoot

Registered
Hello,

I am very new to real estate and wish to buy my first property ever. I am 45 years old and live in Montreal. I have some cash for a good side downpayment. I would intend to live in one of the three units. I currenlty rent an apartment.

My question is: When doing a cashflow analysis, should I consider that I don`t live there and consider the "rent that would otherwsie be paid" as if it were paid by someone else? Or should I do the analysis on the cashflow from the two rented apartments only?

What is the industry standard for this type of analysis, so to speak?

Thanks,

Steve

Anonymous

Registered
Hi Steve,

My wife and I did the same thing last year. We live in one unit of our triplex.

When we were doing the analysis we tried to estimate what market rent would be for the unit we lived in in. The thought was that even though our intent was to live there until we sell it, there is always the possibility of moving out sooner, and eventually selling it fully tenanted with the highest rents we can get.

Hope this helps! Mathias.

QUOTE (lightfoot @ Jul 5 2010, 09:11 PM) Hello,

I am very new to real estate and wish to buy my first property ever. I am 45 years old and live in Montreal. I have some cash for a good side downpayment. I would intend to live in one of the three units. I currenlty rent an apartment.

My question is: When doing a cashflow analysis, should I consider that I don`t live there and consider the "rent that would otherwsie be paid" as if it were paid by someone else? Or should I do the analysis on the cashflow from the two rented apartments only?

What is the industry standard for this type of analysis, so to speak?

Thanks,

Steve

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member