Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

How did you get your start

fumbrunner

Registered
People always have interesting stories on how they got started with REI.  What are some of your stories on how you got started?  What were some of the early lessons that have made you successful investors?  How long have you been investing?

Mine is pretty vanilla.  I was fortunate enough to have very supportive parents that supported me through university, both in terms of paying for it and allowing me to live with them.  One of the benefits of a first generation Canadian with parents who came here to give their children a better life.  This allowed me to save and save.  After getting married and living in an apartment for a year, we built our home with alot of sweat equity.  I therefore had equity right away and used it to begin purchasing properties.

I have been investing for 3 1/2 years and have 9 doors spread over 4 buildings, and loving every minute of it.  I love working with my hands, so this is the perfect hobby for me. Hopefully it will be my job full time someday, when I say goodbye to the desk job that swallows up 40 of my hours per week.

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
QUOTE (fumbrunner @ Feb 6 2010, 05:49 PM)
People always have interesting stories on how they got started with REI. What are some of your stories on how you got started? What were some of the early lessons that have made you successful investors?

Love what you do.

Take calculated risks.

Have some money to start.

Go slow .. but not too slow.

Build a track record.

Know what you are doing i.e. get educated such as REIN !! .. courses / books / seminars .. and then:

TAKE ACTION.

Have a capable team: lawyer, realtor(s), accountant(s), property manager(s), handymen, assistant ..

Sell your abilities .. but don't oversell.