Question about Investing on Vancouver Island

Charly

Registered
I am a Newbie to this forum and to real estate. I am hoping someone can give me some advise. I took the June Quickstart course and found it to be excellent (but alot of information for me to digest). My question is specifically pertaining to the Comox/Courtenay area.

I am interested in buying in that area and seem to recall the area on Don`s list of top 10 towns in BC to buy. However, I also recall his mention of avoiding forestry impacted towns ( pine beatle infestation). Isnt this town close to certain logging towns and could it not eventually be impacted by the downturn in the forestry industry.

My game plan is to buy now, rent, and retire in 5 years on the Island (I love the lifestyle there). Any information on your thoughts on Vancouver Island, Comox etc. I am open to analysing other towns as well. Also, I notice the prices are dropping and so I feel I would like to take advantage now as it is clearly a buyers market. My fear is if I wait next year, the prices will go up, and I will miss my opportunity to buy at an affordable price in an area that I love.

My underlying concern as well is that I want to ensure I select a Community that will be economically sound in the future.

I even looked into Victoria and off the Island- Kelowna but nearly fell off my chair at the prices. Any information on the Gulf Islands etc would also be appreciated.

Thanks
A newbie
Charly
style_emoticons

JanBowler

Registered