Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Seller realtor asks financial questions

spark1

Registered
Hi all,
I am a beginner investor, just looking for my second investment property.
Yesterday I tried to see a potentially interesting house and the seller`s relator said he would not show me the place unless I disclose how much downpayment I have, show him preapproval for the listed price and come to his offcie to verity if I "am not a terrorist". I was a little bit puzzled , I do not want to disclose my financials because my offer ( if any at all) anyway will be at least 20% below the listing. It is in Toronto and we are talking about a 350-400k semi.
Questions: is it normal in the industry? What can I do if I do not want to disclose to the seller realtor my financial situation?

thank you,
igor

RedlineBrett

Registered
The Canadaian Real Estate Association (CREA) has mandated all members to have their clients fill out a "individual identification information record" as part of the real estate industry`s move to comply with the crime and terrorist financing act. If you buy a property you will be required to provide a driver`s license or health care card, SIN card or some piece of government issued ID.

The DP verification and pre-approval is just the listing agent wanting to make sure you are a qualified buyer before he/she spends any time on you. Sound like they are a bit abraisive with how they treat their potential buyers, but it is nonetheless common for agents to do this before moving forward. Weeds out the tire kickers.

My suggestion would be for you to get an agent to represent you as the buyer`s agent and have them deal with the listing agent for you... especially this lister if you intend to lowball them... more than likely they wouldn`t want to work with you with such an offer!

QUOTE (spark1 @ Dec 22 2008, 11:03 AM) Hi all,