Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

What are people`s thoughts on land development not land banking as an investment? What are typical timebombs to watch out for?

johnsu

Registered
Hi Everyone,

Everyone always talks about JV's and rental properties on here. I think land is a great investment if done properly that is at least as good as residental rentals if "done properly".

I have no experience in the development side but I'd love to hear other REIN members thoughts and insights into this.

Ken15

Registered
I have developed vacant land in the past and present and here is a list of things that are required: (off the top of my head)

$$$$$$.... lots of $$$$$$.

Land development is very difficult to obtain financing so usually it requires lots of cash on hand.

You need to retain a Civil Engineer ~$180/hr, Geotechnical Engineer ~$150/hr, Planner ~$250/hr, Architect ~$150/hr, Lawyer ~$250/hr and a Surveyor ~$150/hr.

Typical "Studies" the City requires for development:

-Zone Changes

-Geotechnical Studies

-Archeological Studies

-Traffic Studies

-Parking Studies

-Noise Studies

-Storm Water Management Studies

-Servicing Studies

-Tree Saving Plans

-Surveys

-Lighting Studies

-Site Plan Approvals

-Concept Drawings along with tons of revisions

-Letters of Credit to the City covering all costs of the development to guarantee completion.

-Parkland Dedication or Cash in Lieu of Parkland $$$

-Any public roads, sidewalks, parks, curbs, stop signs, hydro poles, boulevard trees etc... are the developers responsibility for min 2 years.

-City Approvals, Regional Approvals, Conservation Authority Approvals, Hydro Approvals, Cable/Tel Approvals, Gas Utility Approvals, etc...

-TIME... Lots of TIME... I would budget 1 year minimum

Land development is usually a public process.... Be prepared for the NIMBY Mentality (Not In My Back Yard)

AND