Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

what is a lowball offer in present market?

spark1

Registered
Hi all,

I am a beginner and seek advice of experienced RE investors. What do you mean by "lowball offer" in the present market. Particularly I am interested in Toronto. Let`s say I see a semi in North York for 420k, what would be a low ball. 10% off, 20% off? more?

Thank you very much,

igor

Nir

REIN Member
Your offered price should depend on your goal, not mainly the asking price. Is it a certain cash flow you expect? certain CAP? I start there and calculate an excellent price based on my goal regardless of the asking price. then look at the asking price and make a decision. OR: start from certain ratio/criteria that will save you tons of time by eliminating like 99% of the properties. effeciency is key. good luck, Neil.

Dan_Eisenhauer

Registered
When I first got into real estate sales, our office had a listing on the market for $95,000, as I recall. Within a month it was sold for $60,000. There was nothing wrong with the economy or the house. It sold because someone took a chance on writing a low ball offer and struck a home run by finding the seller very motivated.

There is no rule on what is a lowball offer. Do your number crunching, as Neil suggests. Then knock off an amount to see what kind of a response you get. Attaching your cover letter may help generate a counter if you have gone too low. If the seller does not counter, you can always write a new offer.

The most number of offers I have seen the same buyer write on the same house is NINE.

invst4profit

Registered
Good advice above.