Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Thanks for all the great advice: more questions

simmy30

REIN Member
Thank you all for you advice it is appreciated. I have no real estate experience just beginning to read some books. I know that real estate investing is what I`d like to do in the future.

Yes, not having money is a great hinderance at this time. As for JV partnerships I would be like a 1st year med student. I will continue to read more of Don`s books and gain more knowledge.

I hope in this forum where no question is a dumb question. I have a couple questions to ask.

What is RTO?
Where would I find a lease to buy option? Where can I find more info on such an option?
How would I buy these real estate stocks that are suggested? Where do I start?
How much money would I need to beginning a first investment generally?
Suggestion of more books to read.

REINteam

Registered
Hi Simmy30,

There are no dumb questions so ask away!

1. RTO is rent to own - this is a buying strategy some investors use to essentially sell a house at a pre-determined time and a set price to the current tenant or even a potential tenant (can buy a house after you have a tenant buyer). The tenant pays rent, puts up a down payment, covers maintenance and once the agreed time period is reached the tenant can exercise their option to buy. There`s more to it and if this is a strategy you want to learn more about I would suggest REIN™ Member Mark Loeffler`s book "Investing in Rent To Own Properties" - easy to find on amazon.ca...he is also on this forum and might sell the books personally!

2. The real estate stocks suggested are publicly traded companies so you could purchase these through a broker or personally using a paid for service if you were inclined (to my knowledge)