Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

4 Plex Condo Conversion

Luke_Frerichs

Registered
Hello,

I am new to the whole world of Condo Conversion and would like to get my feet wet, im considering doing a conversion with a 4 plex. My question stems from the fact that all 4 units are on one meter. Since that is the case would the cost of installing seperate meters for each unit become a potential deal breaker for the property im considering? What sort of things could i expect?

much thanks in advance
Luke

NorthernAlex

Registered
Luke:

Have a look at https://www.realestateinvestingincanada.com...home-study.aspx which will give you a overview what needs to be done.

As the mentioned fourplex does not have separate meter or hydro, water, gas aso. I think it will be quite expensive to convert and not worth the effort, BUT I am just beginning in this real estate journey and my opinion is not blessed of tons of experience.

Anyhow, good luck.

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
QUOTE (Luke_Frerichs @ Apr 7 2009, 04:22 PM) Hello,

I am new to the whole world of Condo Conversion and would like to get my feet wet, im considering doing a conversion with a 4 plex. My question stems from the fact that all 4 units are on one meter. Since that is the case would the cost of installing seperate meters for each unit become a potential deal breaker for the property im considering? What sort of things could i expect?

much thanks in advance
Luke

some important questions:

what province ?

what city ?

size of unit ?

value per unit
a) as a 4-plex ?
b) as a condo (based on comparable units)

rent per unit ?

the city MAY require a meter per unit .. or they may not ! Did you ask the city planner ?

A city approval is a VERY big IF to a for sure "no" depending on city and province !!

IF the city and province allows a conversion it is VERY EASY:
a) get a survey (maybe $6,000)
b) apply for 4 titles