Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Crazy low mortgage rates now on CMHC Multi-family - just refinanced at 1.66 % :)

TangoWhiskey

Registered
Just refinanced an 18 unit bldg this week - the first of 3 buildings in a 52 unit deal I've been working on for the last 18 months. Rate was locked last week at 1.66 %. Broker said it was one of the lowest rates he has ever done in a 20 yr career.

Why this is important - the ultra low rates totally change the proportion of $$ going towards paydown vs interest. Instead of approx equal paydown vs interest at the 2.8 % I underwrote for (3800 and 3800) its now skewed massively towards paydown (4400 vs 2200). This is the highest paydown ratio in history. The foregone interest partly goes to paydown and partly increased cashflow due to lower payments.

At more 'normal' rates a mortgage pays down approx 8-10 % of principal in the first 5 yrs. At high 2's the paydown is up around 12-13 % of the balance. But at current rates paydown is up around 16-17 % of the balance of the mortgage, making a guaranteed doubling of your money on a 85 % CMHC mortgage just in paydown.

The mortgage is now the asset, not the building. Buy bldgs, lever them up and ride out the short-term pain.

Mark Baltazar

Excited to learn, invest and meet new people!!!
Registered
That’s a significant win!

Just in the process of buying a 12-unit and gearing up for under 2% financing. Makes the DCR so much better.

Sent from my iPhone using myREINspace

Developer

Inspired Forum Member
Registered
Nice work. Definitively nice to have such low rates. Some pretty hefty financing fees associated with a 85% CMHC mortgage though. Need to account for legal, broker fee, cmhc application fee, cmhc insurance premium and any cmhc amortization extension fees

Cory Sperle

REIN Member