MoneySense May 2008

mark186

Registered
I am a recent Quickstart attendee and new REIN member. Having an interest in personal finances, I have a subscription to Moneysense magazine and was intrigued when it showed up in the mailbox yesterday with the cover headline: "A Boom Of Your Own" and stories about "The New Way to Make Money In Real Estate" and "Where To Buy Now". I thought it should be interesting in respect to what I`ve learned recently. Well, it wasn`t.

The Editor`s Note was a smug piece down on Canadian real estate basically because it has risen dramatically since 2000 for no obvious (to him) reason. I wonder how hard he researched. As well, the editor refers to "news stories from the U.S., Great Britain, Spain or Australia about sliding real estate prices." After complaining about not knowing why prices have risen, he now doesn`t explain why he thinks they will decline other than the anecdotal fact they have declined elsewhere. He also refers to the fact that rental prices have not increased the same amount as home prices but that doesn`t seem like an apt comparison to me for a number of reasons. The first is the vast size of Canada could throw the numbers out of whack as well as different growth patterns in different regions. Second, what if the costs to rent property has decreased in the last while? We all know which way interest rates have been going. And in respect to interest rates, what about the size of the home-owner market – has there been a "migration" to home-ownership that would affect rental rates? There is no mention of these details, just a know-it-all attitude that seemed to be hoping for a sharp decline in prices to prove a point some time in the future.