Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Purchase with existing tenants in place

Choner

Registered
Hi,

I am a newbie investor and currently looking to make an offer on my first investment property.The property is located in Ontario and currently tenated. The house appears to be in good repair (to be verified by a home inspection, of course) and I was satisfied with the upkeep of the unit. My concern is protecting myself in the event that the tenants are delinquent in rent. I was going to ask for vacant possession and I would perform my own due diligence on the current tenants, then my realtor drafted up an agreement with a clause that I wasn't comfortable with.

It read as follows:

"The buyer and seller hereby agree in the event that the tenant fails to vacate the property prior to the completion of the transaction, the buyer agrees to assume the existing tenant upon completion of this transaction."

I informed him that I was uncomfortable with this and that I saw no need for this to be included. The issue became a bone of contention to my surprise (Still can't understand why).

After much debate we left off with an agreement to take this out and insert conditions for the seller to offer proof of financials instead (e.g bank statements showing monthly deposits to verify the tenants were current with rent as the seller claimed).

The next day when the realtor ran it by his boss, he refused to let him insert that clause into the agreement and insisted that I take vacant possession of the property. Apparently his boss was saying things to the effect of "who's the reator here?", and "he must be a rookie". Why that matters, I am not sure.