Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Rental Licensing in Hamilton – City Council Meeting September 18th

mplut

REIN Member
http://tablet.thespec.com/news/local/article/784775--rental-licensing-battle-looms?src=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thespec.com%2Fnews%2Flocal%2Farticle%2F784775--rental-licensing-battle-looms#

In an effort to `make some noise` I am preparing to call councillors/write letters in advance of the September 18th meeting. I am relatively new to investing in Hamilton but have been reading old city reports. I`m having trouble finding anything recent and I do want to do some research before I start shooting off my mouth. In my opinion this can have a HUGE impact for all Hamilton investors and am surprised to see nothing on this forum even mentioning the meeting.

Any advice from those involved with this Hamilton issue back in 2008 (I believe?) or those involved with this issue in Waterloo, London, Guelph ...? It is clear that the rental market in Hamilton have issues, but what is the best model to ensure safe housing that doesn`t penalize good landlords and tenants? I can`t see a blanket cash-grab solving the problems...

Thanks in advance.

housingrental

Registered
Contact councilors and staff as a starting point to get their thoughts

Do not alienate them, you want to be able to work with them to whatever extent possible

davidajones

Registered
I love Hamilton , most of the time....

As a Hamilton Landlord I don't want more regulations / costs. BUT, Hamilton is a bit of a wild west which is part of it's appeal!

When you look at buildings for sale the majority are in need of work ! Many of the conditions are dangerous to tenants and reflect a "slum landlord " approach to the market. Most owners are chasing cash flow and ignoring basic repairs. It would be hard to convince City Hall that Landlords are doing their best.