Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

RTO Option Contract Credit Installments

cwsherman

Registered
Hi Everyone, I am new to the REIN family. I'm seeing a lot of controversy regarding the accountIng of the credit installments on an RTO. Are these installments treated as income or trust deposits during the interim period prior to formal verification of deposit for the lender? Many articles from prominent investors are indicating it is income. If the spread on the deal supports such "withdrawals" then it is recognized net income I'd think. If it is a trust deposit, then it wouldn't make sense to treat this as accounts receivable as it would be taxable. In addition, If a trust account is established from the get go, then the buyer/tenant has established equitable interest which You don't want to do. What is the right way to account for these installments?

GaryMcGowan

Registered
There are many ways to look at it.

On one hand it is rent until the T/B has exercised their option to purchase. Some T/B will not and some will take longer than others.

smmcguire

Registered
"If it is a trust deposit, then it wouldn't make sense to treat this as
accounts receivable as it would be taxable. In addition, If a trust
account is established from the get go, then the buyer/tenant has
established equitable interest which You don't want to do. What is the
right way to account for these installments"

As your question has yet to be answered, you are correct in assuming what is the legal direction of such a distinction " Equitable Interest ". I believe you would be best served to direct this question to the ASK AN EXPERT section and direct it to Barry McGuire, or seek some type of legal opinion.

I would be interested in the answer as it pertains to the RTO/LTO.

Steve

Sherilynn

Real Estate Maven
REIN Member