Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Washing Machine

orei

Registered
I'm wondering what people's thoughts are on offering washing machines with only cold water - ie. not offering a hot water cycle. There are obvious efficiency reasons for this as well as arguments that it is better for clothes.

It is common in Europe to have only cold water machines (or machines that do nominal heating via coil heaters in the machine). I don't think it is common in Canada, as of yet.

Is this something tenants will find acceptable or will they think I'm just being cheap ;) ?

moparcanuck

Registered
Firstly, I'm going to state that I've got no personal knowledge as I've never even heard of these before.

How do they relate in terms of cost? Certainly they would be cheaper to run, as no hot water=energy savings. However, unless they're a whole bunch cheaper than a 'normal' machine, why? Let the tenant make the decision to select the cold cycle. I know I still use at least warm, or maybe even hot, if the clothes are really dirty (we have a 2 year old, so it happens), but for more normal everyday cycles, I just hit the cold button. Done and done.

BTW, I'm assuming tenants are paying utility costs, because if you're paying them, then obviously the energy savings of no hot are savings to you.

Sherilynn

Real Estate Maven
REIN Member
You could upgrade to energy efficient machines but keep the traditional hot cycle, even if you are paying the utilities. You could also turn down the hot water tap so the hot cycle is warm and the warm cycle is luke warm. None of my tenants have ever noticed or complained.

Cold water wash still hasn't really caught on here, so a "cold only" machine may not be as welcome.

JimWhitelaw

Registered