Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Please explain the merits/demerits of Bi-weekly Mortage Payment

borisdavenport

New Forum Member
Registered
I am a little bit confused about the term "Bi-weekly Mortage Payment". One colleague referred me a calculator named Biweekly payment calculator and advised that a bi-weekly mortgage payment is better than my current plan. I am not an expert on this matter. Is there any financial wizards here, please help me. Do these bi-weekly payments really save our money, I need to know more about it?

Last edited:

borisdavenport

New Forum Member
Registered
Is it really useful to people like us or yet another plan to loot our money?:(

adriano

Registered
Bi weekly payments cut down on the time for you to pay off the mortgage. It saves a lot over the life of the mortgage. It is a good thing in my opinion, but others may not agree. I think paying down your mortgage quicker gives you more equity for other purchases that may come along.

Thomas Beyer

REIN Member
52 weeks a year implies 26 biweekly payments i.e. one more monthly payment vs 12 monthly payments as 26/2 = 13

It is the same as a shorter amortization period.

Depends on your world view of " paying off a 2.5% mortgage fast is a good thing"

Matt Crowley

REIN Member
^ Yes.

Also, from a cash flow point of view, you are usually good to have similar timing for your cash inflows and cash outflows as it will ease the pain of suite turnovers. If you have a vacant suite for a month but you are paying bi-weekly payments you will need a higher cash reserve than if you have monthly mortgage payments because tenants prepay the first month's rent and DD. Can be a cash flow management issue when it comes to speeding up those payments.

kfort

Registered
On a 30yr amm at 3% WEEKLY knocks your payoff period down about 5 years. It's a little more if I recall correctly.